Suffolk County DWI Lawyer Jason Bassett Discusses the Points Applied to a DWI in New York
January 16, 2023 at 18:57
Suffolk County DWI lawyer Jason Bassett (https://jbassettlaw.com/how-many-points-is-a-dwi-in-ny/) releases a new article explaining how many points is a DWI in the state of New York. The lawyer mentions that in New York, moving violations result in points against a person’s driving record. These points are a way for the state to monitor offenses and punish drivers for their violations. Each point is dependent on the severity and the nature of the violation.
“In the case of a DWI, however, the state of New York does not apply points against your driver’s license. The penalties for a DWI conviction are far more serious than points against your license. While it takes an accumulation of points over a period of time to get a license suspended due to moving violations, a DWI conviction can lead to an immediate suspension or revocation of your license in addition to a criminal record,” says the Suffolk County DWI lawyer.
The lawyer explains that there are severe penalties for a DWI conviction. The penalties are put in place to punish the driver and also to set an example for others. The penalties also become more severe for each subsequent conviction of the same offense.
Attorney Jason Bassett says that drivers who are convicted of traffic offenses will be given points on their driver’s licenses. The nature and severity of the violation will determine the number of points. Accumulating 11 points within 18 months can lead to the suspension of a driver’s license and getting fines.
In the article, attorney Bassett adds that drivers who have six or more points on their records, have convictions for alcohol or drug-related crimes, or refuse to submit to chemical tests will have to pay a driver liability assessment every year. The type of offense the person made will impact the amount they need to pay.
“Drivers with 6 points earned in 18 months or less will be subject to $100 per annum for three years. A driver who earns more points over the 18-month period will have to pay $25 extra each year in fines for each point. Drivers convicted in alcohol or drugged driving-related cases or who refuse a chemical test will have to pay $250 per year for three years,” says the DUI attorney.
Lastly, attorney Jason Bassett emphasizes the importance of having a skilled DUI lawyer when facing drunk driving charges. An experienced DUI lawyer may be able to help the accused receive a more favorable outcome and avoid the negative impacts of a DWI charge.
About Jason Bassett Criminal Attorney
Jason Bassett, Esq. has dedicated his practice to defending the rights of those who are accused of criminal offenses. He puts his unique perspective as a former prosecutor to work and provides the best legal assistance he can give to his clients. Mr. Bassett brings a unique combination of skill, experience, and zealous advocacy to provide his clients with the best possible outcomes. Contact him today to schedule a consultation.
Law Offices of Jason Bassett, P.C.
320 Carleton Ave Suite 4200, Central Islip, NY 11722, United States
For more information about Law Offices of Jason Bassett, P.C. | Criminal Attorney and DWI Lawyer, contact the company here:
Law Offices of Jason Bassett, P.C. | Criminal Attorney and DWI Lawyer
The Law Offices of Jason Bassett | Criminal Defense Attorney
320 Carleton Ave #4200,
Central Islip, NY 11722